Time for a change! 

One of the hardest things for me to do at times is letting go. Whether it’s letting go of habits that need to be changed, clothes that no longer fit or people in my life whose season has come and gone. I will admit, I’m just that type of person that tried to hold on even after God and the person has shown me that they are not beneficial for the place he is taking me. 

Letting go hurts.

But letting go is where God has me right now. Over the course of this year he has shown me who my core friends are. These are the friends that call/text to check on me and my family. These are the friends who make an effort to ensure our friendship is solid and real. Life is busy for all, but when someone takes time to hang out with you, they really value your friendship. These are the friends that support your dreams and goals. Even if they have no personal intrest in what you are trying to do, they still make sure you know you are supported. 

I never have to ask my real friends for support. And they never have to ask me to support them in what they are trying to accomplish. That is just what true friendship is…

It hurts, but letting go of some people has actually given me more peace. Finally I am realizing who are my ride and die friends, as opposed to those who are only in my life to benefit them. 

I am so over being there for some people and they are not there for me. When they have a new book or anything exciting going on their lives, I buy whatever it is. I am,there for their event. Yet, I don’t get the same love back. 

Confusing…

I am so over texting people and there is no response. Yet, when they see me out and about they feel guilty and instantly remember I texted them. Naw, you can keep that type of friendship! 

Yes it hurts to let some people go, but I now see them for who they are. I trust God to introduce new people to me that will value the type of friendship I care to share. I trust God with my heart because it is broken by the actions of others. I trust God with my future. I trust God with my life. 

To the left, to the left! I forgive you, but I’m moving on. 

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Time for a change! ”

  1. I held onto some relationships and struggled with them for longer than I should have. Learned my lesson. I still check on the old friends once in a while but mutual support is limited. I am left with a few awesome friends to commit more time to and expect good in return. It’s wonderful. I don’t need a thousand friends who don’t have my back. Thanks for sharing this well written thought.

    Like

Leave a Reply

