Do your part!

“Faith without works is dead.” James 2:17

I revisit this scripture often because I am one who loves to stretch my faith and expand my territory. God has placed purpose within me and I am determined to carry it out while I still have time on this earth. 

So often people want God to simply drop a miracle in their lap without them ever having to do any leg work. But, unfortunately that’s not how things work. Yes, prayer does work. But, in order for prayer to work sometimes you gotta put in work. Jobs just don’t came knocking at your door. You must apply. Marriage will never happen unless you date and find the one for for you. Happiness will never come unless you first realize what makes you happy. 

Currently, I’m the process of writing my first novel. I’ve self published in the past, with seven books under my belt. But, now I want to try something different. I want to submit to a publisher and lock in a book deal. Ultimately, I want to be in the NY TIMES BEST SELLER LIST. This goal I have set for myself is not unattainable. But, my first step is to write. 

You see, for me my goal is to be a published author known to the world. While your goals or passion maybe something etirely different. But, one thing is the same, we both must put in the work to attain our goals and dreams. True, there maybe some times when we are tired or we get discouraged, but we can’t let that stop us. God is watching how we handle disappointments. He is watching how we focus on the task at hand. He wants to do his part, but he needs to see how serious you are about your part. 

For me, starting this month of September I’ve written out monthly goals to help me stay focused. With that, I must use my time very wisely. Daily I must maximize on the time I have even during my lunch breaks at work. My goals will not be crazy, stretching myself thin type of goals. But, they will be in place to keep me on track, accountable and focused. 

Whatever your goals are, I want to encourage you to break them down into smaller parts so you don’t feel overwhelmed. Find an accountability partner who will check in with you and make sure you are staying on track. Never get discouraged if you miss the mark one day or week. But, make sure you make up for it at another time. 

I truly believe the more God sees us working our gift and focusing on our purpose that he will open doors only he can open. 

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

