Restoration!

“I will repay you for the years the locusts have eaten.” Joel 2:25a NIV

I remember a time when I was doing well in life. I wasn’t rich by any means, but to be a dental hygienist in D.C., I was make a very decent living. I was single and able to come and go as I pleased. And spend money how I desired. Life was good! I eventually decided to get married, not the best decision at that time. But, hey I did it and I was blessed with two amazing children. 

Life got hard. Bills became overwhelming. My husband did not help me in any manner. Yet, God still showed mercy and all the bills got paid. Then we moved South and I made the decision to not work. I was tired of always being the bread winner and taking care of everything. So whatever storms came our way, I allowed him to figure things out because I didn’t have the strength to take them on. 

He wasn’t good at managing money and we fell behind on bills. We never had enough for food, so we ate a lot of ramen noodles and pizza from Little Ceasars. (they had a $5 Hot and Ready special.) My hair began to fall out, I also lost weight. Not good because I’m already a thin person. 

Eventually we divorced and I was left with nothing. Yet, God made provisions for me and my children. I had to get on government assistance, but I was blessed with more than enough money to buy groceries. I sold anything I could on eBay to make money and some of my friends even blessed me with money. We lived in a one bedroom apartment with not the best plumbing and a occasional visit by neighboring roaches. But, God kept us safe and we had each other. 

My children were little so they weren’t aware of the struggle, but I knew and each day I cried, prayed and focused on making a better life for us. 

A few months later I was blessed with a job and we were able to move to a better and larger apartment. I was able to get off government aid and finally had health insurance for my family. We were blessed to stay there for a few years. It was home, but I wanted a house to raise my children in. 

I made my request known to God and diligently worked on what I needed to make it happened. I was blessed with a better job, making more money so I began to save. 

God blessed us to build a home! 

I write this post to encourage others that God has not forgotten about you. Yes, you may have endured a hard season in life. But, God is able to restore and bless you with more than you could ever imagine. Trust him with your future! Trust him with your life! Seasons come and go, don’t get stuck in your right now. Don’t get stuck in what your eyes are showing you in the present moment. Apply your faith today! 

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

1 thought on “Restoration!”

Leave a Reply

