Status Change…


I personally love social media. I love seeing all the new and exciting things my “friends” near and far are getting into. It helps me to see their children grow up, pray for them in their times of needs and also it can be used to advertise business ventures and ideas. 

But, what throws me for a loop every time is when people are quick to change their ststus to:

In a relationship…

Um…weren’t you just in a relationship not too long ago? Wasn’t that other person the love of your life? Your post said y’all were soul mates. So where did that person go? I get people are excited about new love interest. And trust your true friends are excited for you too. But, we just can’t keep up with these new status updates. Whatever happened to waiting until you both are really serious to blast your love across social media? I mean the type of love that has you in a “courting” relationship, or with a ring on. 

I get everyone is different and people can do as they choose. It’s just hard for the outsider who is still happy about the love relationship they thought you were still in only to find out, you recently posted pics of your new boo. Well, maybe I should had know y’all relationship had ended cause there were no more “in love” pictures posted across my news feed.

Okay…didn’t get memo you moved on. But, glad you’re happy again. Well, until the next status change. 

Regarding my relationships, I’m private until I know it’s serious. Not girlfriend/boyfriend serious. I mean this is my forever boo, my hubby type of serious. After my divorce, yes I dated guys, but no one was about to get posted across my Facebook as my new boo. I never posted pics of guys, just me and my children. I bet people either felt sorry for me or thought I was gay. 

People would tell me all the time how I am such an awesome person, beautiful in looks. And how one day I would find the “right one.” Be it unknown to them I was dating, just not blasting it across social media. That was until I met Keith. He was different. He was serious. He didn’t just want to simply date, he wanted to court with the intent to marry. 

I thought guys like him didn’t exist anymore.

It wasn’t until he proved his forever seriousness that I began to introduce him to my Facebook friends. We changed our profile picture to represent our togetherness, but I didn’t change my status until we got married. 

Well…he changed my status! 

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

