Blending Families

I am currently in a blended family. It’s not exactly what I thought it would be and I’m really having a hard time dealing with this new reality. When I first met my hubby and he told me he had children around the same age as mine, I was thrilled. I dreamed of all of us hanging out and being a six pack. He even has a girl, so I was super excited to meet them and spend time with them. 

So eventually we met. Nice children. We met a Chuckie Cheese and since they hadn’t seen their dad in a few weeks (he lived in another state), I sat at a table by myself so they could have fun and bond. That was until the crazy baby mama decided to come join me. 

She talked and talked about how my man was no good. Blah, blah, blah. Mentally I stopped listening and went to a happy place in my mind. And why was she talking to me again? Oh well, I kept it respectful. I tried to appear alert and interested, but she was bashing my man so I just wanted her to shut up! 

Moving along…

My gift is relating to children. All my life children migrate to me and want to be around me. But, my hubby’s baby mama has sabatoged any relationship I could ever have with them for now. She constantly feeds her children thoughts that their dad is choosing me over them. And now that he’s married he won’t have time for them. She has told them to not allow me to touch them and etc. This only hurts because I am a very affectionate person. I love giving hugs and kisses (not on the lips) to everyone. 

But here I am with a wall built up because of her evil ways. My hubby senses my distance and he is hurt by it. But, I don’t know how to change what’s in my heart at the moment. People may say pray about it, but I need more than simply prayer. I don’t know what it is, but it’s more than me simply praying. 

Then here are my children who are just as care free as me. Their dad doesn’t bother me and vice versa. He could care less about my new marriage and has never brought up my hubby’s name regarding anything. He has never come at my hubby in any crazy manner about me or the kids. Thus, my hubby doesn’t get the back lash I am experiencing. 

I just wish we could all get along and she would stop saying not so nice things about me and my hubby. He’s not perfect, but he is trying to be in their lives and love them. So many guys totally don’t care about their children, but that’s not my hubby. I am super proud of how he juggles things. I know he is stressed about the matter, but he doesn’t really show it. 

Being in a blended family for me is something different. I wish it was storybook, but it’s not. I know God has a plan, just waiting patiently for him to reveal it. But until then, I am left wondering what’s the new foolishness she will try to find the children’s mind. 

Until the next time she gets pissed about something…

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Blending Families”

  1. Hang in there! I understand your pain. Getting to know your husband’s kids and building a relationship with them is important. The ex is probably jealous because her life hasn’t progressed and she hasn’t found what’s she’s been looking for. Don’t give her the satisfaction of stooping down to her level. Be patient. Kids are able to sense when an adult is wrong and they know who will and will not hurt them.

    What goes around, comes around. The way that the ex is treating you will eventually fall back on her. Her behavior will only keep her from being happy and feeling the true joy that you and your husband have discovered.

    Like

Leave a Reply

