Help, but don’t handicap!

I personally love helping people. If I have it to give, then it’s yours. I believe with all my heart that God wants us to be there for each other and help in any way we can. What I find sad is that so many people are only in it for what they can gain out of the experience. Nowadays, instead of secretly helping someone and allowing God to bless you openly, many people pull out their cells phones to take pictures and record videos of their good deeds for others to comment on the different social media outlets. When people do this, I think they miss the whole concept of showing Gods love. Rather, they are seeking attention from people who often don’t even know who they are. 

To be able to be a blessings to someone else is awesome. But, when does helping someone so much become a handicap to them? When is helping too much causing an individual to begin to depend on you for everything that they stop wanting to help themself? Where and when do you draw the line?

I’ve been in that position and it really sucked. The person just stopped caring and felt within themselves that I could handle everything on my own.Thus they never tried to help me do anything. This was very frustrating. At first you’re extending kindness, but then it turns into them taking advantage of the situation and not wanting to change. Ultimately, I allowed them to be become handicapped. Not good.

Slowly, one must pull away from helping so much. You have to give a person an opportunity to learn for themself, even if they fall at times. Falling is a part of life and we must all learn this. Yes, falling hurts at times, but we must get back up and dust ourselves off. Falling is a part of learning and allowing ourselves to grow to do some things on our own without always looking for a handout. 

To conclude, helping is truly a blessing. But don’t help to the point of handicapping someone. Maturity,  growth and love comes from sometimes helping from a distance. 

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Help, but don’t handicap!”

Leave a Reply

