When I was a child.

image

Germs, germs, germs. The other day I got another email from the childcare saying someone in the school aged room had strep. I was in a rush as always, so I deleted it and moved on to my next email.

Surely, my child who was just treated for strep a few weeks ago couldn’t possibly get it again. Thus, I went on with my life. Later, I picked my boys up from childcare and the youngest said those infamous words, “Mom, my throat hurts!” Is this a joke,” I thought to myself? How is this possible? Does he go around licking other children? This child is the main reason I have health insurance, so off we went to the urgent care.

You see, I’m a single mom and taking off work is just not an option. Yes, I totally understand God is my ultimate provider and not my employer. But, I figure, God has more opportunities to bless if I also did my part and go to work.

As we sat in the waiting room, I begin to think back to when I was a child how things are so much different than nowadays. When I was a child, never did I use hand sanitizer. Yet, I was a pretty healthy kid. I drank out of the water hose, tasted my mud pies, rode my bike without a helmet, climb trees, jumped fences, and yet I’m still here to tell it. Yes, I’m pretty sure my mom made us wash our hands before eating. But, while I was playing outside germs were free game. I was a kid and I loved doing gross kid stuff.

I’m just confused where did all of these germs and sicknesses come from. As a mom, I pride myself on wiping down everything, ensuring my children wash their hands (all the time), I have hand sanitizer galour, yet here I am at the urgent care AGAIN!!

Will this germ fest ever end? When will bacteria leave my children alone? I’m really over fevers, ear infections, strep and having to take off work to watch a sick child drag around all day. I truly miss my childhood and not being so consumed by germs. I wish my babies didn’t have to go through some of the things they do. I just want them to have a healthy and fun childhood, full of lastly memories of good times, not of the taste of Anti-biotics.

Here child take your meds…

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

1 thought on “When I was a child.”

Leave a Reply

