Independent Woman

I admit I am an independent woman, but I have to be. I am a single working mom raising two young children. It’s been years since my divorce and honestly, I’ve had a learn who to navigate through life without the help of a man.

True, I’ve been blessed that when I need something fixed, I can call on someone from my church or pay a company to do it. But, the everyday life stuff…I do on my own. I take out my own trash.

I make my own money, I have my own vehicle and brand new house. I pay my own bills, buy my own groceries and pay that expensive childcare bill every week.

I am the only one responsible for making the daily decisions for our family. There is never a day I have to consider someone else and if they rather want to do it this or that way. This is my life. I may not get everything right, but this is my current normal.

Honestly, a lot of men are intimidated by a strong independent woman. They may not express it, so there is no reflection on them as a man. But I’ve met plenty who are because of my pay scale and ambitions outside of my career.

I always get the, “And you just clean teeth,” statement. Wow. Excuse me? Kinda rude, but ok. Yes, I clean teeth, but I am also maintaining the oral health of my patients. FYI: If  something serious goes wrong in the mouth, you could die!!

I try not to give off the I don’t really need a man to take care of me attitude. But, honestly I don’t. I don’t need a man, but I want one.

So after many years of dating those who were not the one for me…along came Keith.

Keith and I met on the internet. Can’t say it was love at first site, but when he said my favorite line, “Coolbeans,” I knew he was a keeper.

Keith helps me with letting go of always having to be in charge. He is such an awesome man who is not intimated by my income, goals or dreams. He’s my biggest supporter and I his.

Honestly, I never believed in soul mates until I met him. He makes being vulnerable easy, especially when he expresses his love towards me.

So I still have some independent ways about me, but he is patient with dealing with me. I am daily learning to step back and allow him to lead. I am daily learning that it doesn’t always have to be or go my way. I am learning that I can still be strong, I just need to allow him to be stronger.

Letting go of my “independence” doesn’t mean that I am weak, it just means I am allowing him to be the head and to take the lead. I trust him and I know he has my best interest at heart.

So my advice for other single independent women who are looking to be in a relationship, realize it’s gonna to be ok with the right guy. The one that can handle how strong you are will appreciate your strength. But, he will also need you to realize letting go of some control does not mean you are weak. I man loves to feel needed. So bottom line ladies, act like you can’t change that light bulb…although we all know you can! 😋❤

Just my thoughts…Adrian

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

