Never neglect YOU!

I’m a single mom of two young boys and one thing I love most is that I’ve realized in order to be the best mom for them, I have to take care of me first. So often moms, neglect the care they need because we feel our children’s needs are more pressing. But, let me ask you? God forbid something medically happens to you due to something you could have prevented, who will take care of your children then?

As a mom it is only natural to want the best for your children. Like many children of this world, mine too are spoiled beyond the point of return. But, what about spoiling yourself? You are a great mom who wears many hats. Why not go out to eat by yourself and order that yummy chocolate cake that you’ve always wanted to eat ALL BY YOURSELF? Why feel guilty because you want to get your hair or nails done? Why not treat yourself to a movie? Why put off yearly physicals, blood work and pap smears?

I do these things for myself often. Why? Because I do love my boys. They have a lot of energy, thus I want to be at my maximum so that I can keep up with them and be the best for them.

If I need to take a nap, I do. If I want to buy me a new dress, I do it. If I want to order a large popcorn and eat it myself while I watch a movie that is not rated “G,” I do it. And I enjoy myself.

Never have my boys gone without. God has blessed our family above and beyond, so I give unto them abundantly and reward them for good grades and behavior constantly.

Recently, I underwent a medical crisis. At first I blew it off because I had other “motherly” duties that to me were more important. But, the longer I blew it off, the worse I got. And so, I had to put my health first. I wanted to be healthy so I could be with them as long as the Lord allows. When I need rest, I don’t feel guilty anymore. I simply rest and my boys are very accommodating and understanding.

I know it may be hard for some women to let go and trust everything will be okay, but trust me it will. Relax, enjoy life, enjoy your family, just remember to never neglect the beautiful you! 

Posted from WordPress for Android

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

