Wanna Play?

image

Yesterday I took my boys to the park. As I sat in my car and watched them play, (because I hate bugs) I marvelled at how young kids just wanna play with each other regardless of age, gender or race. There my boys were playing with their ball when they noticed another boy there alone and invited him to join their game. Without any prejudices each child tossed the ball to one other.

That made me think, as we age when do we stop just wanting to be nice and friendly to a stranger? When was the last time we saw someone sitting alone and we invited them over to converse? At what age did we as a culture begin to define people by the color of their skin?

In my house I don’t teach “race” per say, but my boys know that they are considered “black” by the world’s definition. It always amused me when they define themselves as “brown.” Well, they are actually right to some degree. Their skin tone is brown, not black.

I love the innocence of children. If they have a toy, they will share. If they have a joke, regardless of how gross it may be, they share it. If they are at a birthday party they make up games to play, while the parents sit with their cell phones in their hands being unsocialable. (That’s a whole different blog I will write about later!)

If only us adults could have the heart as young children. If only we could be like that again, being that we were young once before. I wonder how different the world would be.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Wanna Play?”

  1. Yes, yes, we do need to remember the purity of our younger selves. But we are too busy dusting off the pain it took to get to our older selves. They say “Once you learn it, you can’t unlearn it”. But I say, ” if the learned behavior is cynicism, we can replace it, by learning optimism.” Children see the world so full, us adults just empties it all out. So yes, I agree. We need a child’s heart to control our adult brains.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

