Jealousy

Why does this word have so much power over people? Ever since I could remember, people would always “hate” on other people because possibly their hair was longer, their skin was lighter, they had the newest toy or someone was popular. I never understood why people are not happy with themselves or for someone who has achieved a certain goal/dream or  purchased something nice for themselves.

I’ve learned early on that the only person I’m in competition with is myself. I want my today me to be better than my yesterday me. I am so focused on achieving my own goals that I really don’t have time to focus on what others are doing. But that’s just me…

I remember hearing girls in school saying things about other girls like, “She thinks she’s all of that because of…” When in fact that girl didn’t think that way at all. So instead of being nice to the girl, they would talk about her and shun her away from their group. Unfortunately, I’m in my thirties and I still hear people murmur things like that about other people.

I’m the type that rejoices for the accomplishments of my friends. If my friends gets married, I support her although I am yet single. I rejoice with her because it’s not about me. My day will come and I’ve surrounded myself around people who will be happy for me when my day comes.

I remember when one of my friends built a house. One would have thought it was my house by how happy I was for her. But guess what, my time came around years later, and I too am currently building a house.

People who are jealous have too much time on their hands. Too many people are too focused on keeping up with and passing the Jones’s that they are losing who they are, their purpose and getting into debt.

If more people would encourage and uplift instead of discourage and tear down other people, the world would be a much better place. But, I know in reality there will always be “HATERS.” These people will always be among us, but that’s ok. Simply rise above them and keep it moving. If people are jealous of you, then continue to do you. You are walking in your purpose!

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

