Camping

image

Yesterday I visited my son’s school. All the first graders were having a special time with parents called “camping by the camp fire.” Although a real tent, camping gear or a camp fire weren’t  physically present, it was a time to read to your parents and share some things they’ve been working on regarding the theme camping.

At first I thought I was going to be late due to my work schedule, but I was actually early.

When the parents and other family member were finally allowed back to the different first grade classes, each child excitedly greeted the one who came to hear them read.

As my son read his book about camping, I noticed a young girl who didn’t have anyone there to read to. She looked around the class hoping someone from her family would show up, but no one ever did. The hope this little girl had in her eyes began to fade as the time passed by.

Eventually, a family who had both parents there, invited her over to read with their family. Reluctant at first, she eventually went to join their family and read to them.

My heart went out to this little girl, because that was me growing up. My mom was a single mother who had to work, thus she couldn’t attend all the functions I had at my school. Yes I was sad. Yes, I too was invited to celebrate different school functions with other families. And yes, eventually as I got older, I began to understand why my mom had to do what she had to do to take care of me and my brother.

Years later, I too am a single mom of two children. One difference is that I am blessed to work at a job that is really family orientated. If your child is having something at their school, my job never denies you time off to celebrate with them. Also, my children’s school is down the street from my job, so sometimes, I can run over there real quick and return back to work with no issues.

Although I am a single mom, I am blessed to still be able to spend lots of time with my boys. I am able to attend all school activities, eat lunch with them on particular Friday’s, have one on one time with each child and provide them with their needs and majority of their wants. Even if school closes for snow, ice or Hoildays, I am able to bring them to work with me. By doing so helps me with saving on childcare cost.
It’s the little things like being able to hear my child read to me at his school that I hope he remembers as he grows up. That little girl in his class was once me, but I thank God that I am able to be active in my children’s life in and outside of school. I thank God daily for my job, my boys and my life.

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

