Someone like my best friend

Weird as it may be to some, but my closest friend is my ex. So, if he is my closest friend, why aren’t we a couple? Because we had our time in history. It was an interesting lapse in time, we have tons in common, but we’re our best as best friends.

Another twist to the story is that it was my first real boyfriend who introduced  us when we we’re in our early 20’s. We met on the streets in Detroit at some festival. He was in his police attire and I in plain clothes. Names were exchanged, then numbers. Our romance was pure and innocent. Never once did we have sex, rather our favorite thing to do when he got off work was go and grab some pancakes and grits from the local Coney Island.

I loved him and he loved me. He loved me enough to switch jobs and move East just to be near me. We knew no one there except each other in the beginning. We continued to date, eventually got married and shortly after got a divorce. Neither one of us knew what marriage involved. Neither one of us knew marriage involved putting in some work, having a lot of patience and sticking in there when things got tough. We tried, but we didn’t try hard enough.

Although we called it quits on our short lived marriage, we remained friends. We never had any ill feelings towards one another. He got remarried and so did I. He got divorced again and so did I. But, he remarried his wife, while I have remained single.

Throughout the years, we have been able to talk about everything. Never has the line of sexual impurity entered our friendship relationship, although we had been intimate before. In my opinion, our relationship is the definition of true friendship. Although we now live in two different states, he has my back when I need a listening ear or even when I want to cry because a guy has done me wrong. And I am there to make him laugh and to help him help him understand the female mind. We’re a perfect match..but simply as friends.

When I meet that special someone in the future, I do desire that we have a true friendship like me and my ex. A friendship where there are no judgements, finger pointing or anger. Someone who is open minded and has my best interest at heart. Someone I can agree to disagree with and still be friends. Someone who will love me regardless of all of my faults. Someone like my ex, but not my ex. Someone hand picked by God, my one and only soul mate.

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

