Co-worker verses Friendship

Are my co-workers my friends? Naw. It’s not that some of them are really nice people, but I simply have no desire to intertwine the two. Have I always been this way? Naw. But, as I’ve worked at different offices, met tons of people and matured in life. Separating the two is a goal of mine. Honestly, I’ve allowed some of my patients into my world and they have become some of the greatest blessings and friends that could come my way. But, with my co-workers, although some are really awesome people, I draw the line with how open I am with them.

Often I’m asked by some of them if I have a Facebook account. I don’t lie. Rather, I admit I do, but then I quickly interject that I don’t add co-workers to my friend list. (Because they are My co-workers, not my friends.)

The reality is I have to work with and be around these people about nine hours of my life each day. I can’t afford to build be a friendship with them, have it go sour for whatever reason (one can never figure out reasons why things go sour. The blame game always shows its ugly head.) and still be around them and feel as if there is not a “pink elephant” in the room when we’re together. Been there, done that and I don’t plan to ever do it again.

Some may say, “Oh, whatever happened in the past I need to let go of and move on because all people and experiences are not the same.” I would totally agree with this statement. But, at the same time, one must also display wisdom. If I am noticing how they gossip, Facebook stalk and tell other people’s business, why would I want to be apart of that? Gossiping isn’t my style.

I would rather simply go to work, do the job I am getting paid to do, interact on a friendly; yet work related level and then go home. And I’m happy doing this. If one of my co-workers needed me outside of work in a life or death situation, I would truly have their back. But, I would first wonder in my head, “Why would they call me first, I’m sure they have other options?” Just being honest.

People can say what they want, but this works for me and my world. Me and my co-workers have a mutual respect and they’ve accepted my boundaries. Life is good and I enjoy the nine hours I spend with them daily.

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

