I’m a single black mom, not a mad black woman!

I am the first experience my two boys will have regarding a woman, so I take that role very seriously. Everyday I am careful because not only am I raising them alone, I am teaching them how to become honest and productive people in society, while at the same time needing to correct them when they’ve misbehaved.

Boys will be boys, and my boys although are the greatest blessings to me, have a lot of energy. Way more than me to say the least. They are constantly doing boy things, as I look upon them I am often puzzled because I’m a female and I don’t understand their mindset and ways.

But, even when they get into trouble, my focus is to not “go off,” roll my neck and eyes and degrade them, but rather in love help them understand what they did wrong and why they are being punished. After which, we always hug and walk away still loving each other.

Yes, I’m the head of our household, but one day they will be the head of their own household. My prayer as a mom is they marry women who respect them and are not so hot tempered. That’s just not what they are use to.

Do I get frustrated at times by some of the silly things they do? Yep. Often I have to catch myself because I want to “go off.” But what would it prove? I want them to respect and fear me, but not be afraid of me. I am their mom, but I am also a black female. The first one they’ve ever met.

When they look for a wife, I want them to find someone who is kind, patient and loving. Someone who will have their back in rough times and is their leading cheerleader in life. I wish I could pick out their future spouse, but I know I can’t. Totally unrealistic. I just pray that the example I am a showing them will sway their thoughts and choices as they grow up and will one day search for a wife.

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “I’m a single black mom, not a mad black woman!”

  1. Wow. This is very insightful. I am a new mom myself and the thought of me being the first example to her of what a woman is…and should be….is challenging. You sound like a wonderful mother who loves her boys very much. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Everyday I pray for widsom because like I tell them, they are my “first” children. They’re kinda like an experiment. Lol. I know I can not be a dad and teach them the ways of men, but I can be that example of how they should be treated by a future wife.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

