The Choice of Celibacy

For many people this choice is not one of the easiest to make. While others have their reasoning behind why they choose to stop having sex before marriage, my choice was made to honor God and my body. Although I’ve been a Christian for many years, I did make the choice to fornicate while being a Christian. While I was a child, I always thought if I did have sex that God would open the Heavens and strike me down instantly. So when I did and nothing happened, well at least not in the natural, I thought it couldn’t have been such a great deal.

But, although nothing happened in the natural, spiritually I was dying. By God’s grace I never caught a STD, but allowing your flesh to rule you and separate you from the blessings God wanted to make available to you, in my opinion, is worse than dying.

I had never been into doing drugs, drinking or anything “crazy,” but sex was a strong hold for me. Being that we’re sexual beings, I ran with this idea. I figured since I wasn’t doing any of the “hard core” sins that I could escape the microscope. But God said, “No!”

I wrestled with the scriptures and the idea of waiting till marriage, but sex felt so good. I wasn’t sexing any and everybody, but was in a “committed” relationship so I thought. Thus, I enjoyed my time with my mate. Only to wake up the next morning feeling condemned and ashamed for my actions. At least until the next time I committed that sin again.

But then finally, I had enough. My mate had betrayed me and it really opened my eyes to sex before marriage. Yes, I was totally hurt. How could the one with whom I’ve been sharing my most prized possession with betray me on so many levels? This was the beginning of the end of me fornicating as I knew it.

I didn’t want to feel like this. I wanted the hurt to go away. I wanted the pain to end. I didn’t want to feel embraced any more. I wanted to have control over my mind and body. I wanted to please God…

So one day, I did it. Cold turkey. I made a decision to stop giving away my body to someone who is not my husband. I made a decision to obey the scriptures and actually starting living the word. I made a decision to confess my faults to my loving Savior and thus I believed I was forgiven.

Has it been difficult? I wouldn’t lie if I would say it hasn’t. I have soul-ties out there. There are times when my body yearns for my ex although I don’t want him in my life anymore. When this happens, I know it’s simply the flesh and I redirect my focus. I don’t resist the thoughts, I simply change them. I am in control of my thoughts and my body.

Currently I’m not dating anyone. I guess that’s also helping me with my celibacy. But, even when I met people I’m upfront about my beliefs and where I stand on sex before marriage. I’ve gotten mixed reactions. But, I don’t focus on what people’s thoughts and reactions are, my main concern is that I’m pleasing God with my actions.

I know my future husband will be blessed by my decision. Although I’ve made some mistakes in the past, I know I am a Proverbs 31 woman. I’ve learned to not put myself in compromising situations and to always stay prayed up. Just as God is cheering for me, the enemy is trying to cause me to fall. But, God always makes a way of escape.

I take life and my choice one day at a time. I’m happy with my choice. I’m protecting my heart and my temple. I don’t really care about what others think nor what they are doing, this is my journey. A journey that has shown me that nothing is too hard for me.

God is pleased. I am happy. My future husband will be overjoyed and I’m loving life cause I’m finally free of the bondage my flesh had me in.

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

1 thought on “The Choice of Celibacy”

Leave a Reply

