Letting Go

Although I’m an extrovert, It never bothered me when I was alone. I remember playing with my brother growing up, but when he finally realized I was a “girl,” he began to play with his guy friends. And that was ok, because I had a pencil, paper and my imagination. I guess that was the first time I realized that people, things and situations don’t last forever. That was also when I realized my love for writing. Writing took me places I could only imagine. If I wanted to be taller, I would write myself as taller. If I wanted to be able to fly, I wrote me as having the ability to fly. The skies were the limited when it came to any vision I perceived.

As I grew older, I met different people. Some interesting. Some not so interesting. I had my heart broke a few times, but I learned valuable lessons with each story. I had many friends mainly because I accepted people for who they were. Till this day, I’ve never judged someone because they were different from me. There was a few mean girls growing up who thought the world revolved around them, but I never really felt their vibe, thus I kept it moving and danced to my own tune.

I’m an adult now and looking back, there have been many people I’ve come across. Some people have been in my life, basically all my life. While, others I met through my ins and outs of the few states I’ve lived in.

Moving to the East Coast in 2002, was one of biggest letting go experiences of my life. I was going to a foreign land in which I knew no one. But, I wanted to see more, experience more and see what life was like outside of Michigan. Yes, in the beginning I was home sick and thought many nights, what was I thinking? But, I had to learn to let go and move on. Michigan was home. It was where I grew up and made my first best friends. It was where I feel in love, had my first kiss and where I had my heart-broken. It was where my family was and leaving was a hard decision. Leaving helped me to mature.

Time went on and I met new people. I now had a new circle of good friends. Home would always be home, but now I had a new address. I began to experience life. I had my own place and was paying my own bills. Yet, friends came and friends went. Rather they moved to a new place due to a job, or life just got too busy to always hang out on a Friday night to go skating. Life is about change. One needs to accept this. It’s not that our friendships ended, life just caused a changed. And change isn’t always bad, it just is.

Then, I moved again to the South. Not knowing a soul, I moved in faith. I’m very free-spirited. Since I did it before, I figured I could do it again. But this time it was different, I had two little boys along for the ride. They’re easy-going, so that makes life easy. They just go with the flow.

So, here we are starting over and having to make new friends. I always smile because although I had no idea I would be living in the South, God did and he had already set up who I would meet and where we would live. Letting go of the East Coast was hard and I miss my friends there, but the truth is true friendship isn’t confined to a certain zip code or a state. If someone is meant to be in your life, they will be. Whether it’s a friend, a love interest or a job, if it’s for you then you don’t have to struggle regarding it. Simply let go and relax. Nothing can hold back or prevent what is for you from happening.

My friends will always be my friends. The guy that is for me will find me. The house I desire is mine. Health is mine. But, sometimes you have to let go of some things in order for God to position you where he wants you to be.

I’m happy with my new life in the South. This is home and I’m slowly turning into a country girl who still loves her pencil, paper and imagination.

Author: koolaidsmile78

I'm a radical follower of Jesus Christ who is a newly wed with two handsome boys, who just wants to share my thoughts and experiences with those who care to read them. You can view and subscribe to my videos on YouTube: Koolaidsmile78 or my like my Facebook page: onecandleatatime. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

